Faster Access When Switching Applications_

When you switch from Photoshop to another application, if there is data on the clipboard, Photoshop can "export" it to the system clipboard for pasting into the other application. However, because Photoshop files can be extremely large, it can cause a delay while it "exports" the data on the clipboard. What happens, in fact, is that the data is converted to WMF or PICT format, depending on the OS, and that's what can cause the delay.

If you find yourself waiting more often than you actually use the data on the clipboard, you can tell Photoshop not to export the data on the clipboard, thus ensuring speedier handovers. To turn off the option for exporting clipboard data—the option is turned on by default—go to Preferences ^ General and deselect the checkbox for "Export Clipboard." Regardless of whether this option is selected, it has no effect on Photoshop's performance while you are working inside Photoshop; only when you have a large amount of data on the clipboard, have forgotten to purge it (Edit ^ Purge ^ Clipboard), and then try to exit Photoshop will you notice the difference (Figure 1-13).

You can always select the Export Clipboard option again on the rare occasions when you actually need to use the data on the clipboard in the other application. If you want to cover all bases, you can leave the option selected in Preferences and, before you make the switch to another application, purge the data from the clipboard—but chances are you will forget in your excitement. To purge data on the clipboard, go to Edit ^ Purge and select Clipboard from the submenu.

Figure 1-13: To ensure speedier switches between applications, make sure "Export Clipboard" is not selected.
Learn Photoshop Now

Learn Photoshop Now

This first volume will guide you through the basics of Photoshop. Well start at the beginning and slowly be working our way through to the more advanced stuff but dont worry its all aimed at the total newbie.

Get My Free Ebook


Post a comment