Revealing and Deleting Hidden Data

In the course of editing, data might move off the canvas intentionally or unintentionally. For example, when you transform a layer, some of the visible image content might disappear beyond the document bounds. The overspilled image content is not lost but remains hidden beyond the document bounds (Figure 11-11).To give another example, when you use the Crop tool in Hide mode, as opposed to the normal Crop mode, the cropped or shielded image content is made invisible by redefining the document bounds.

Figure 11-11: The bounding box indicates that the layer being transformed contains hidden data.

There are plusses and minuses to hiding data. The obvious plus is that you can move it back into the visible image area at any time or reveal it by extending the document bounds. The not-so-obvious minus is that hidden data adds to the file size.

You can reveal the hidden data by choosing Image ^ Reveal All. Unfortunately, the command is not a toggle, so you have no way to reverse the revelation after you have performed another command—well, not without a little workaround. If you think you will need to get back to the document bounds before you invoked the command, use guides to mark the document bounds. You can then use the Crop tool to draw a marquee that snaps to the guides, choose Hide from the options bar, and commit the crop.

If you are certain that you will not use the hidden data and you do want to reduce the file size, use the Rectangular Marquee tool to select the visible image area and then choose Image ^ Crop.

0 0

Post a comment