Copying catalogs

Instead of creating a new catalog from scratch, you can create one by making a copy of your existing catalog. For example, say you currently have personal and work files in one catalog. You can make a copy of your existing catalog, rename it Business, and then remove your personal files, while leaving your work files intact.

Or you may want to give a copy of your catalog to someone who admires your elaborate, yet efficient tagging system and wants to use it for organizing his or her own catalog. You shouldn't have to reinvent the wheel if you want your catalog like someone else's, right?

Here's how to copy a catalog:

1. Choose FileOCatalog.

2. In the Catalog dialog box that appears, click the Save As button.

3. Keep the new catalog in the default folder or choose a new location and folder.

4. Give your new catalog a name in the File Name text box.

5. Click Save.

Your new catalog opens in Album, and your old one closes.

Although the catalog has been copied, the physical files (photos, video clips, audio clips, and creations) have not been duplicated. The new catalog is linked to the same files as the original catalog. This is fine if the copied catalog is for you on your system. But if you are giving the catalog to a friend or colleague to use on another computer and you don't also give your friend or colleague the links (the actual photo, video, audio, and creation files), a "file missing" icon appears on the thumbnail as soon as your friend tries to view the images in the Photo Well. If your colleague doesn't want your files to begin with, no biggie. He or she can just remove the files from the catalog (see the section coming up in a minute). But your friend needs copies of the files as well as the catalog. Of course, your friend will have to reconnect to those files because the file location has been moved. For more on reconnecting to files, see "Reconnecting to missing files," later in this chapter.

0 0

Post a comment