Duplicating photos

The Duplicate command is pretty self-explanatory — it creates a copy of your image. The power to duplicate photos can come in handy if you want one or more copies to edit differently. For example, you may want to crop an image a couple different ways — one version that only shows a single person and another that shows the group shot. Or maybe you want a copy that is color corrected and another copy that is desaturated so it appears as a black-and-white image. For more on editing photos, see Chapters 11 and 12.

To duplicate a photo, follow these steps:

1. Select the photo in the Photo Well.

You can only duplicate one file at a time.

2. Choose EditODuplicate Item.

You also can right-click and choose Duplicate Item from the context-sensitive menu.

The duplicated photo is a new file, with the word "-copy" appended to the name. It is also a new catalog entry. The duplicate appears near the original in the Photo Well. It is, however, no longer linked to the original photo.

The Duplicate Item command copies both the original file of the photo and, if there is one, the edited version as well. For example, I duplicated my "Europe-01.jpg" file, but as you can see in Figure 7-11, it also duplicated my "Europe-01_edited.jpg" file as well.

Figure 7-11:

Album duplicates both the original file and any edited versions, as well.

Figure 7-11:

Album duplicates both the original file and any edited versions, as well.

Original Copy of edited version

Edited version Copy of original

Any tags, captions, and notes attached to the original are duplicated with the file. So be sure and do all your tagging and caption/note writing before you duplicate to maximize your time.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment