By default, Photoshop and ImageReady automatically regenerate the optimized image when you click the Optimized, 2-Up, or 4-Up tab at the top of the document (if you have modified the image since the last optimization), when you change optimization settings with the optimized image displayed, or when you edit the original image.
In ImageReady, you can turn off auto-regeneration so that the last version of the optimized image remains in the image window until you manually reoptimize the image or reactivate auto-regeneration. This feature is useful if you want to edit the image without pausing for reoptimization with each modification. You can also cancel optimization while it's in progress, and preserve the previous image.
When auto-regeneration is turned off, the Regenerate button A appears in the lower-right corner of each optimized image view. A regeneration alert symbol also appears in the Color Table palette if the optimized image is in GIF or PNG-8 format, indicating that the color table is out of date.
Was this article helpful?