You can delete selected colors from the color table to decrease the image file size. When you delete a color, areas of the optimized image that previously included that color are rerendered using the closest color remaining in the palette.
When you delete a color, the color table automatically changes to a Custom palette. This is because the Adaptive, Perceptual, and Selective palettes automatically add the deleted color back into the palette when you reoptimize the image—the Custom palette does not change when you reoptimize the image.
Was this article helpful?
Adobe Photoshop can be a complex tool only because you can do so much with it, however for in this video series, we're going to keep it as simple as possible. In fact, in this video you'll see an overview of the few tools and Adobe Photoshop features we will use. When you see this video, you'll see how you can do so much with so few features, but you'll learn how to use them in depth in the future videos.