The option to Export Cache will be grayed out and can't be selected if you're viewing a folder that is locked and/or write-protected, because Photoshop is not able to write the cache to that folder.
After choosing Export Cache, Photoshop copies two files into the folder you're currently viewing— one contains the thumbnails for the folder, and the other contains any metadata (details about a file, such as its creation date, modification date, format, height, width, color mode, and size). When copying the images contained in the folder to another disk, copy the entire folder to make sure you get those two cache files as well.
Was this article helpful?
Adobe Photoshop can be a complex tool only because you can do so much with it, however for in this video series, we're going to keep it as simple as possible. In fact, in this video you'll see an overview of the few tools and Adobe Photoshop features we will use. When you see this video, you'll see how you can do so much with so few features, but you'll learn how to use them in depth in the future videos.